Where we stand, before anything else. We do not make a budgeting app. We build reward apps that pay small amounts for everyday tasks, which is near personal finance without being part of it, and none of them is offered here as a substitute for YNAB. We take no referral fee from YNAB and there is no affiliate link on this page.

YNAB is not free. It costs $14.99 a month or $109 a year, and it has no free tier and no advertising. What it does have is a 34-day trial on its own website that asks for no card and ends by itself. The same trial started in an app store works differently, and YNAB says so, in a footnote.

What YNAB charges

YNAB's prices on ynab.com and in the App Store, 27 September 2026
Plan ynab.com Apple's In-App Purchases row
Monthly$14.99 a month “YNAB Subscription”, $14.99, listed twice
Annual$109, shown as $9.08 a month “YNAB Subscription”, $109.00, listed twice
College students A free 365-day trial, once—
Upgrading from YNAB 4 10% off the annual plan, for life—

Web prices are in US dollars “plus tax where applicable”, and the pricing page says exchange rates are not reflected in them. The “$70 Savings!” badge is twelve months at $14.99, which is $179.88, less $109. Two figures are derived here and labeled as derived: the annual plan costs less than the monthly one from the eighth month, and shared by the six people one subscription allows it is about $18.17 a person a year. Apple's list carries no billing periods, but here the prices match the web so closely that none are needed. Apple shows no promoted purchase above the App Privacy panel. Google Play shows an In-app purchases badge, no Contains ads badge and, on 27 September 2026, no items-and-offers section under either of its headings.

One trial, five lengths, two sets of rules

YNAB's page “Our Free 34-Day Trial” explains the odd number: “Most free trials are for 30 days. However, many months have 31 days.” You do not see how the method works, it says, “until the month rolls over”. Both store descriptions, which are otherwise the same text, offer a “free one-month trial” and end with “Free for 30 Days”.

Every YNAB trial length and what each source says happens when it ends
Where you start Length, as stated Card When it ends
ynab.com 34 days “No credit card required!” “No need to cancel! You won’t be charged unless you subscribe.” A reminder email comes a week before.
Google Play “one-month” and “30 Days” in the description The store “may require” one “will automatically renew as a subscription through Google Play”, in YNAB's help center
App Store The same description The store “may require” one Not stated for the trial. The description says a subscription renews unless auto-renew is off 24 hours before the period ends.
A friend's referral link 6 weeks — Both friends get a free month once the new one subscribes
College program 365 days Proof of enrollment instead Not stated. The college FAQ says a second free year is not offered.

The 6-week figure is in the What’s New notes on both stores, in the words “a 6-week free trial instead of 34 days”. YNAB's referral article does not mention it yet. The terms add a sixth case: an employer's Wellness plan that ends becomes a 34-day trial. The store trial is the one that can charge you, and YNAB does disclose it: the pricing page footnotes “No need to cancel!” with “when you sign up directly through YNAB”, and the terms say that in a store “different terms may apply”. Google Play refunds, the help center adds, “must be requested within 48 hours of subscribing”.

Three documents give three refund answers

What each YNAB document says about refunds on a subscription bought on ynab.com
Document Monthly plan Annual plan
Terms of Service, April 9, 2026 “non-refundable” Not mentioned
Cancellation Policy “not eligible for refunds” A “prorated refund” for the time left, if you delete your account
Help center, “How to Request a Refund” Contact support, or cancel and keep using YNAB to the end of the period

None of the three contradicts another. The annual refund is simply printed in one place, and it is tied to deleting the account, not to canceling. Canceling alone keeps your access, and your money, until the year ends. A reader who checks the terms or the help article will not find the refund at all. It does not cover purchases through Apple or Google, or a gift subscription once redeemed.

Canceling is a web-only task

The help center says billing “is not available through the mobile app settings (only in the web app)”, and gives a workaround: paste the web app's settings address into a phone browser. The button there is headed “Cancel your subscription”. Store subscribers cancel in the store. Deleting the app does not end a store subscription; YNAB's instructions for deleting an account tell Apple subscribers to cancel with Apple first, so they are not charged at renewal. An expired trial account is deleted after 120 days.

What the two stores say it collects

YNAB's App Store privacy panel against its Google Play data safety page
Declaration What it lists
Apple, Data Used to Track You No such section
Apple, Data Linked to You Purchases, Financial Info, Location, Contact Info, User Content, Identifiers, Usage Data, Diagnostics
Google, data shared Device or other IDs, for advertising or marketing; phone number, for app functionality and account management
Google, data collected Payment info, purchase history and other financial info, device IDs, photos and videos, precise location, in-app messages, email address, user IDs, address, phone number

Both are self-declarations rather than audits. YNAB's pricing page says it wants to make money only “from you paying us money”, and the trial page says “We never sell user data of any kind”. Sharing device IDs for marketing is not selling them, so Google's line and YNAB's sentence can both be true. Apple's panel declares no tracking; Google's names a marketing purpose. We report both.

What YNAB does better

  • A trial that cannot bill you. The web trial takes an email address and nothing else, then stops. Compare Babbel, which advertises no trial, or most subscription apps, where the trial is the start of the charge.
  • Prices that agree. $14.99 and $109 on the website and in Apple's list, with no tier names to decode.
  • A prorated refund on the annual plan, where many subscription terms give none. It is filed in one place only, but it exists.
  • Six people for one price, and a free year for any college student, including grad, part-time and international students.
  • It states how it earns. No ads, no free tier propped up by one, and a plain sentence on the pricing page about why.

For what the other budgeting and subscription apps charge, see apps like Rocket Money.

What we could not check

Nothing behind a YNAB login or inside the app was read. So we could not see how long a trial started in either store actually runs, whether an App Store trial converts to a subscription the way YNAB says a Google Play one does, or the cancel screen itself. Google Play's items-and-offers section was read once, and an absent section on one day is not proof it never appears.

Frequently asked questions

Is YNAB free?

No. YNAB is a paid subscription, $14.99 a month or $109 a year plus tax where it applies. It's free for the 34-day trial, and free for a year for college students who prove they're enrolled. There's no free tier and no advertising. Read 27 September 2026.

How long is the YNAB free trial?

34 days if you sign up on ynab.com, and YNAB explains why: a 30-day trial can end before your first month rolls over. Both store descriptions say "free one-month trial" and "Free for 30 Days" instead. A friend's referral link gives 6 weeks, according to the What's New notes in both stores.

Does the YNAB free trial need a credit card?

Not on ynab.com: "No credit card required!" At the end the trial simply stops, and YNAB emails you a week before. YNAB's own pages add that "third-party app stores may require credit card information", and its help center says a Google Play trial "will automatically renew as a subscription".

Is YNAB free for students?

Yes, for one year. YNAB gives college students a free 365-day trial after they show proof of enrollment, such as a student ID, transcript or tuition statement. Grad students, medical residents, international and part-time students qualify. It's once only, and only through YNAB, so an App Store subscriber has to cancel with Apple first.

How much is YNAB a month?

$14.99 on the monthly plan. The annual plan is $109 paid up front, which YNAB shows as $9.08 a month. Twelve monthly payments come to $179.88, so the annual plan is cheaper once you'd keep YNAB for eight months or more. Apple's store lists the same two prices.

Can I get a refund from YNAB?

For an annual plan bought on ynab.com, yes: YNAB's cancellation page says deleting your account gets a prorated refund for the time left. Monthly plans aren't refundable. App Store and Google Play purchases are refunded by Apple or Google, and YNAB's help center says Google refunds must be asked for within 48 hours of subscribing.

How do I cancel YNAB?

If you subscribed on ynab.com, open Account Settings in the web app and click Cancel your subscription. The mobile app doesn't show billing, so on a phone open app.ynab.com/settings in a browser. If you subscribed through Apple or Google, cancel in that store. Either way you keep access until the period you paid for ends.

Can I share YNAB with my family?

Yes. One subscription covers up to six people, and YNAB doesn't charge extra for it. Split six ways, the annual plan is about $18.17 a person a year.

The same method, on the apps that pay

This page asks what an app costs. The rest of the site asks the opposite question of reward apps, with every figure read at the source and dated, in the reviews and what they actually pay.

Read the reviews